UNC Focus Friday Discussion Group


Week 5: Is there a common American culture?

Posted in UNC by focusfridays on September 25, 2006

This week, on Tim C’s suggestion, we’ll be reading Robert Bellah’s article, “is there a common american culture” which examines individualism and the veneration of freedom of personal choice that Americans have done, and how it gets there in U.S. history (Christianity plays a major role, though certainly not as a sufficient condition).

3 Responses to 'Week 5: Is there a common American culture?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Week 5: Is there a common American culture?'.

  1. k bonura said,

    I have read this article for my religion class and need to summarize it, but I really don’t understand what to write about. Is there anyway you might be able to help me? Thanks so much. Any pointers would be appreciated.

    Karen

  2. focusfridays said,

    Karen.

    I doubt you’ll get a response from this website. People rarely visit the older posts.

    good luck.

  3. sena said,

    Asalam,

    Great, I am be interested with your article. If do you all want to get another source about islam, I have site about it. Recently, there a lot of opinion about islam expecialy in the west, In general they view islam as violence religion, they say that islam identic with terorist. Is their tell in true, visit my site : http://www.islam-waylife.blogspot.com. Here I will explain to you all clearly about islam. Don’t forget leave your comment. Ok.

    Wasalam. And thank’s a lot.


Leave a comment